House Track and Field Championships

Taubman House, Winners of the Track and Field House Championships

Recent history of the House Track and Field championships showcases a series of “three-peats”: Latham 2001-3, School 2009-11 and Hilliard 2013-15. Taubman’s turn seemed to arrive in 2019, but we were denied the opportunity for back-to-back wins in 2020 with COVID restrictions on gathering. Happily, fortune favoured us again this year.

Conditions on the day were almost perfect, if just a little cool. Brilliant sunshine with little to no wind set the scene for some impressive performances. The Years 7, 9, 10 and 12 Beach and 9 and 10 Medley relays were notable highlights. More memorable, though, was the rare blend of determination and enjoyment on the face of each Taubman competitor. Sure, we had a job to do, but there was much satisfaction in going about the task we’d set ourselves. I am proud of the way the young men of the House battled and I was happy that we were able to secure the win for our Captain, Lachlan Dock, who was in hospital recovering from a very serious injury.

I am also grateful to the School in giving us the opportunity to compete together at such a great facility. The planning and organisation behind such an event could only be conducted by a dedicated and efficient team of staff. No less commitment was shown by the staff who encouraged, marshalled, measured, started, recorded, retrieved, raked, commentated and instructed throughout the day.

Finally, I want to thank my Year 12 peers who stayed healthy and didn’t succumb to the IB or HSC flu variants that emerge at this time of year. I hope you enjoyed our last House Track and Field carnival as much as I did.

Laud Codjoe, Vice-Captain, Taubman House

Related Articles

Head Master's Bulletin

Academic Focus

Academic Excellence Citations and Engagement Citations – Semester Two I am delighted to publish the names…

Head Master's Bulletin

Basketball News

It was great to see 27 teams hit the court against Waverley on Saturday. There were…

Head Master's Bulletin

Colours Awarded | Term 4, 2021

Askew, Oliver (10We) Line Track and Field NSW Nitro Schools Intermediate Champs 2021 Dedousis, John (11Mu)…